1996 marked a milestone in the history of both Tynagh and Abbey/Duniry hurling clubs when they joined forces at under age level.

The decision to amalgamate was not taken lightly but a decline in population and a smaller pool of under age players in both parishes left little choice if hurling was to survive and be played at a higher level. The vision and courage of those involved smoothed the way for the amalgamation that was to take place at adult level in 2004.

The dedication and determination to succeed by all involved was the launch pad for what is now a thriving ambitious club and the coaching policy pursued at juvenile and adult level is now starting to come to fruition.

After playing at senior level  in their first year the club was relegated to Intermediate reaching the quarter final in 2006 and 2007 and the semi final in 2008 before regaining senior status in 2009.

The clubs Roll of Honour  includes

Under 12
1998    Eleven a Side A
1999  Thirteen a Side B
2000 Fifteen a Side C
2005  Fifteen a Side B

County Under 13 No Solo
2004 and 2005

Under 14
1999 C
2003 B
2007 FEILE

2004 B County Champions
2011 A County Champions

Tynagh Abbey Duniry also won juvenile club of the year in 2004

2009 County championship
2009 Connacht Championship

Junior C1
2011 County championship

Tynagh Killeen
2003 Thirteen a Side B
2004 and 2005 Thirteen a Side A

2001 Seven  a  Side A

Tynagh and Abbey Duniry Neighbouring Parishes

As neighbouring parishes both Tynagh and Abbey Duniry have in fact combined to produce teams several times since the foundation of the GAA.

In the early 1900s there were two separate clubs in Abbey and Duniry The records of the county convention held in Loughrea on January 21st 1907 show that Abbey was represented by Mr. Hynes and a Mr. Abberton and Duniry club by P. Walsh and J. Glennon.

Tynagh are listed as County senior hurling runners up in 1889 and 1896.

Between 1900 and 1906  there was no team in Tynagh but several players from the parish including John Smyth and Darby Gilchrist who were on the  Galway  team during that period were on the Duniry team who were runners up to Mullagh and Peterswell in the County senior finals of 1906 and 1907.

In 1917 Abbey won the county junior final.

When Tynagh were unbeaten in the Galway senior championship between 1920 and 1929  winning five county titles (due to the troubles in the country there was no competition in 1921 1924 1926 1927) the team included several Duniry players including Mick Kenny and Jim Power who were on the Galway team that won the county’s  first All Ireland final in 1923 along side Mick and Jack Dervan, Ignatius Harney, Andy Kelly and Hubert Gordon  from Tynagh.

In the late forties Tynagh again had a strong senior team who were runners up to the Army team in 1947 and loosing the 1948 semi final to St. Colmans.

Due to declining numbers in Abbey Duniry during  in the 1960s players from Abbey Duniry participated with Tynagh and when Tynagh won the county junior title in 1971 Abbey Duniry players joined Tynagh to form a senior and Intermediate team in 1972 before going their separate ways again in 1976.

Tynagh were runners up in county minor A in 1982 and 1983, runners up in under 16 in 1984 won the under 21 A in 1985 and were Intermediate champions in 1987.

Abbey Duniry won the Junior Hurling Centenary Cup in 1984 and the Junior county championship in 1986 and following a replay with Portumna were crowned Intermediate Champions in 1989.


In the 1990s Abbey Duniry were runners up in two county senior finals in 1998 and 1999 loosing narrowly on both occasions to an Athenry team that went on to capture the All Ireland Club titles.